NeoLoader 0.42a Final Setup Issue

abel
Site User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:17 pm

NeoLoader 0.42a Final Setup Issue

Postby abel » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:32 pm

i've 0.41f and my log says:
NeoLoader ist Up To Date

Autoupdate doesn't work?

User avatar
DavidXanatos
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:54 pm

Postby DavidXanatos » Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:45 am

it should be working no changes to that try again or try manually
Live free or die trying!

abel
Site User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:17 pm

Postby abel » Sun Jan 19, 2014 9:18 am

tried again. Autoupdate doesn't work.

User avatar
DavidXanatos
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:54 pm

Postby DavidXanatos » Sun Jan 19, 2014 9:32 am

what release channel do you use?
I tryed it quick here with the final and it worked for me, also try if a clean install works?
Live free or die trying!

abel
Site User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:17 pm

Postby abel » Sun Jan 19, 2014 9:48 am

and, as expected, the installer has failed. Another untested code.

Image

I've selected my existing NeoLoader folder, but setup has created a new NeoLoader folder inside my existing one, so different from what is written, the setup create always a new folder.


[EDIT]
However, in my country the dotted lists are Top-Down.
First i select a folder, and finally i press install.

User avatar
DavidXanatos
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:54 pm

Postby DavidXanatos » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:01 am

Creating a folder NeoLoader inside the selected folder is intentional behavioure. (you cant tel the extractor to create a subdir inside the current dir, so a user doubletaping on setup and install would end up with all files on the level of the installer and thats bad.)

This is a standard selfextracting rar archive, it contains a folder called NeoLaoder containing the setup and some Qt dll's.
It gets extracted to the folder selected as destination folder.

Did the clean setup worked?
Live free or die trying!

abel
Site User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:17 pm

Postby abel » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:24 am

DavidXanatos wrote:It gets extracted to the folder selected as destination folder.


sure?

this is setup runned at 10:11, with selected folder = C:\program files\NeoLoader

Image

Image

The new NeoLoader.exe IS inside ..\Neoloader\NeoLoader folder, while the existing one (that i had updated at 9.59) has not been overwritten.

User avatar
Neo26
Site User
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:53 pm

Postby Neo26 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:41 am

Regarding the update problem, the "0.41f" version, was the latest final or was not a "current" build ?

I'm thinking that maybe neoloader don't recognize updates if user is not using current build but an older one.

I'm using the "beta channel" and I never had any problems with the updating.

abel
Site User
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:17 pm

Postby abel » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:43 am

DavidXanatos wrote:>this is setup runned at 10:11, with selected folder = C:\program files\NeoLoader

thats wrong you should select C:\program files



NO, the client is wrong.
If i want to overwrite the old version, I select the old folder (just like eMule), so C:\program files\NeoLoader. It's logical.
In fact, the suggestion says "if the destination folder does not exist, it will be created automaticaly before extrac..", SO IF the destination folder exist because/and i've selected it, the destination folder should not be created automatically.

User avatar
DavidXanatos
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:54 pm

Postby DavidXanatos » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:44 am

The SFX archive contains

./NeoLoader/NeoSetup.exe
./NeoLoader/Config/NeoSetup.ini
./NeoLoader/cryptopp.dll
./NeoLoader/d3dcompiler_46.dll
./NeoLoader/icudt51.dll
./NeoLoader/icuin51.dll
./NeoLoader/icuuc51.dll
./NeoLoader/libeay32.dll
./NeoLoader/libEGLd.dll
./NeoLoader/libGLESv2d.dll
./NeoLoader/msvcp110d.dll
./NeoLoader/msvcr110d.dll
./NeoLoader/Qt5Concurrentd.dll
./NeoLoader/Qt5Cored.dll
./NeoLoader/Qt5Guid.dll
./NeoLoader/Qt5Networkd.dll
./NeoLoader/Qt5Widgetsd.dll
./NeoLoader/ssleay32.dll

When you extract that to C:/Program Files

you end up with

C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/NeoSetup.exe
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/Config/NeoSetup.ini
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/cryptopp.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/d3dcompiler_46.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/icudt51.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/icuin51.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/icuuc51.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/libeay32.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/libEGLd.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/libGLESv2d.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/msvcp110d.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/msvcr110d.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/Qt5Concurrentd.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/Qt5Cored.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/Qt5Guid.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/Qt5Networkd.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/Qt5Widgetsd.dll
C:/Program Files/NeoLoader/ssleay32.dll



Thats intended behavioure

As said its just an rar SFX it by default celects the working directory it is in, and if i don't put the folder in,
a user tha starts and clicks install without thinking will blast all files to the directory he has the setup in and that not good.
Live free or die trying!


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests

Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php